One of the most powerful tools for improvement is personal reflection. I had a profound moment of realization the other day. I realized that…I am afraid! Yes, I am a grown man and admit that fact. Not scared. Afraid. Not of the dark nor things that go ‘bump’ in the night, but actually of things that are real.

In fact, I even made a list of these real things of which I am afraid as a leader. These are:
I am afraid that I will not inspire my staff.
I am afraid that I will not appreciate them enough.
I am afraid that I will not provide enough support to them.
I am afraid that I will not give specific enough feedback directly linked to improved teaching and learning.
I am afraid that I will not be learning quickly enough to stay current with best practice.

I could go on, but I realize that it makes me vulnerable to criticism by sharing these, but more importantly, it makes me consciously aware that I do all of these things of which I am afraid.

Thank you for letting me be vulnerable. I’m still afraid…

Ron

