I have to admit that I have found a recent addiction to the TV channel, TCM, as it has featured its ‘31 Days of Oscar.’  I have heard of many of the titles, but have not actually seen many of them until this past few days while I have been completing homework for my doctoral program. (Yes, I know…focus on the homework).

I truly appreciate what the actors, producers, directors, musicians, and the technical casts have accomplished in such treasures as Singin’ In The Rain, Lawrence of Arabia, Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner, Now , Voyager…I could go on and on. There are so many great films that we should remember.

One of the films, Now, Voyager, was new to me so I was especially interested in seeing it since it featured one of my favorite actresses, Bette Davis.  She pays the role of a young lady who goes through a transformation reminiscent of ‘The Ugly Ducking.’  It was a heart-warming story of her attempts to find herself and then help in the transformation of someone who reminds her of her own story.  The movie ends with Charlotte Vale (Bette Davis) and her friend, Jerry, standing at the library window looking at the sky.  Charlotte looks to Jerry and says, ‘Oh, Jerry, don’t let’s ask for the moon. We have the stars.’

‘Oh, Jerry, don’t let’s ask for the moon. We have the stars.’

I thought, ‘Yes, Charlotte! You understand.” (I now know that many others agree since this particular line is one of the most famous closing lines in all of cinema. Thanks, TCM for adding that bit of trivia).

I thought about my present circumstances with the opportunity to open a new elementary school in the fall, and I find that the more I visit the new school, @KellyMillES (Kelly Mill Elementary), the more excited I become about the possibilities that exist.

As I have been talking with some amazing teacher candidates, I have noticed that this enthusiasm and excitement are contagious!  The more we talk about creating the KME Family, I find myself sharing the vision of being the best school in the state (yes, I DO think it is possible and that you can intentionally design and structure events to cause that to be the likely outcome), and I ask the question, ‘What Can’t We?’

Like Charlotte and Jerry, why should we settle for ‘reaching the moon’ when ‘reaching the stars’ should be our goal?  Too often in education we settle for ‘the moon.’  Sure, it’s no minor feat to reach ‘the moon,’ but we often settle for that when with a little more determination, focus, passion, and fortitude we could help our students ‘reach the stars.’ After all…aren’t they worth it?

