Today, I got my first real glimpse of the original art that is being created specifically for our Interactive Science Lab at VCE (@VickeryCreekES). I cannot find the words at the moment to adequately describe it, but ‘Beyond, beyond‘ are the only ones that come to mind. The multiple layers to this ‘creation of genius’ are filled with depth and complexity.  It is a triptych created by Mr. Kent Knowles, a Professor of Painting at Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) in Atlanta, Georgia.

Although I am still trying to comprehend the complexity and the absolute beauty of the work, something that the artist said struck a cord with me.  He said, ‘As I responded to the work, it changed.’ He allowed the work to guide what would appear next on the canvas. Brilliant! 

The few of us who were invited to see the work-in-progress had a conversation using this statement as a metaphor about the possibilities that exist when we, as educators, ‘respond to the work,’ i.e.- respond to the learner. As we respond to the learner, our work and the learning changes to align to the need. 

Isn’t that what we are actually supposed to do?

What do you think?

