As I begin my 5th year as a principal, I am reflecting on the joys of what I do. Yes, being a principal IS a joy.  I love the interaction with students, parents, staff, and community.  In fact, it is this interaction that drives my passion.  It is what gives me the energy and motivation to always strive to be the best administrator I can be!

After this weekend, there is another type of interaction that also drives my passion.  You see, I ‘attended’ one of the best professional development opportunities that I have had in my 21 years of education.  It was #RSCON3 made possible by the power of technology and Twitter.  This 3-Day conference ended today, and I am still trying to digest a fraction of what I learned.

I ‘attended’ some sessions by my Twitter ‘friends’ @elle_gifted, @plnaugle, @gcouros, @courosa, @timbuckteeth, @Dwight_Carter, and I literally met hundreds more new friends – @vickyloras, @ktenkely, @chucksandy @Principal_EL, @paulawhite, @Grade1 and so many more.  To each and everyone of you I say, ‘Thank You.’

Thank You‘ for…
stretching my thinking,
making me laugh,
adding to my ‘follower’s list 🙂,
giving me lots of new ideas,
suggesting so many Web 2.0 tools,
and…on and on.

But most of all, thank you for sharing your brilliance that will enable me to BE better and DO better for all of those 1,200 students, 122 staff and faculty members, and thousands of parents who are connected to my school.

I look forward to continuing to grow with you and the hundreds of thousands of educators around the globe who strive to do the best for every learner – child and adult.

Ron

